Notre Dame Student Film Festival

Notre Dame Student Film Festival poster 2022

An annual launching pad for student filmmakers as they begin their careers in the film, television, and entertainment industries, the Notre Dame Student Film Festival screens films made by undergraduate students during the past year as class projects in the Department of Film, Television, and Theatre. Founded by Ted Mandell in 1990, the festival has featured the first films of future award winners such as Peter Richardson (2011 Sundance Film Festival Grand Jury Award winner, How To Die in Oregon) and John Hibey (2012 Sundance Film Jury Award Winner for Short Filmmaking, Fishing Without Nets), as well as numerous others. Writers, producers, editors, executives, many NDSFF alumni are now career professionals at Netflix, Lionsgate, Dreamworks, Industrial Light & Magic, Disney, NBC Universal and numerous other companies.

Since 2013, audience members have been invited to vote for their favorite film via text message, and the Audience Choice Award is presented to the winning filmmaker(s) following the final screening. View past Audience Choice Award winning films here

The Notre Dame Student Film Festival Archive lists all student films presented in the festival since its inception in 1990.

Many student films from past festivals have also been selected for national and international film festivals, including:

Tape Wizard - 2020 Bolton International Film Festival, 2020 Portland Film Festival
Sandbranch - 2020 International Social Change Film Festival
Shelter Me - 2019 Arizona International Film Festival (Best Documentary Short), 2019 USA Film Festival (Jury Award, International Short Film Competition), 2019 Atlanta ShortsFest Film Festival (Best Short Documentary)
Emma. - 2019 NYC Short Documentary Film Festival (Best Director), 2019 Harvard College Film Festival,  2019 Ivy Film Festival, 2019 Oregon Documentary Film Festival
Breaking the Cycle - 2018 New York City Short Film Festival (Best Documentary Short), 2018 USA Film Festival (First Place Non-Fiction short film), 2018 Ivy Film Festival (Best U.S. Undergraduate Documentary) (View Breaking the Cycle)
Respectfully, Tony - 2017 Nevada City Film Festival
Debajo de los árboles (Beneath the Trees) - 2018 Big Sky Documentary Film Festival
Peace at the Pipeline - 2017 San Pedro International Film Festival, 2017 Riverside International Film Festival
patrolling sandy hook - 2016 USA Film Festival (Winner, Special Jury Award), 2016 DocuWest International Film Festival (Winner, Women Who Doc Award)
Spark of Madness - 2016 Naperville Independent Film Festival (Best Student Film Nominee)
Eat. Ride. Sleep. - 2015 DocuWest International Film Festival, 2015 Chicago/Midwest Emmy Nominee (View Eat. Ride. Sleep.)
Curry & Erin - 2015 Ft. Lauderdale International Film Festival (Special Jury Prize, Collegiate Documentary)
The Suicide Disease - 2014 Sunset International Film Festival (Winner, Best Short Documentary)
The Last Free Place - 2014 Anchorage International Film Festival
Project Hopeful - 2012 Re:Image Film Festival (Winner, Best Picture, Collegiate Category)
King of the Park - 2012 CineYouth Film Fest (Winner, Best Comedy, Senior Division)
The Elect - 2011 Los Angeles Film Festival, 2012 Dallas International Film Festival  (View The Elect)
Picking Up America - 2011 Ivy Film Festival (Winner, Social Change Award)

Friday, January 21, 2022 at 6:30 pm
Saturday, January 22, 2022 at 6:30 pm
Sunday, January 23, 2022 at 7:00 pm*
*Audience Choice Award will be presented after the 7:00 pm screening on Sunday, January 23.

Running Time:  Approximately 120 min. Some films contain mature content.

Tickets for the Notre Dame Student Film Festival are $7 for the general public; $6 for faculty, staff, and seniors (65+); and $4 for students. Tickets may be purchased by phone at 574-631-2800 or in person at the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center ticket office (M-F, 12:00 – 6:00 pm). Tickets will be available online at on January 10.


Chase Cummings, Ryan Lanser, John Adkins

Put in a thing. Then cha-ching.


Grant DelVecchio, Yiyi Niu, Litchfield Ajavon

There’s one lone house in the center of Eddy Street Commons…and its owner is perfectly happy to stay there.

Kiki Carney, Briana Avila

A struggling twenty-something finds himself in immersion therapy.

Ivan Skvaril, Ted Nagy

A former professional surfer and vanlife influencer goes off the grid.

John Adkins

Audition jitters lead to a connection.

Scott Kiley, Colin Campbell

A cutthroat cookoff.

Joel Mandell, Sam Eppich

TikTok turns a slut shaming street preacher into a college campus rock star.

2022 New Jersey International Short Film Festival- Official Selection
2022 Student Los Angeles Film Awards- Semi Finalist
2022 Chicago Southland International Film Festival- Official Selection
2022 New York City Short Film Festival- Official Selection

Ella Mylod

How lonely would you say you are?

Justin George, Sam Eppich

Don’t open that Amazon Prime package.

Peter Nichols, Nate Robards

A family of Afghan refugees starts a new life in Austin, Texas.
(*Audience Choice Award)

2022 Standalone Film Festival- Official Selection (Los Angeles)
2022 Oregon Documentary Film Festival- Official Selection
March 2022 LA Documentary Short Film Festival- WINNER Best Sound & Music

2022 Big Apple Film Festival- Quarterfinalist
2022 Reality Bytes International Student Film Festival- Official Selection

Charles Ivancic, Nate Robards

No matter what face you put on it, the daily grind is 24x18.

Creighton Dolezal, Joseph Fabiano

A basketball court sits on top of a pizza joint in Woodstock, Illinois. The owner of both was one step away from making the 1996 US Olympic basketball team.

WINNER- 2022 Angeles Documentaries Film Festival - Best Student Documentary
March 2022 LA Documentary Short Film Festival- Official Selection

Lizzie Todd, Peter Nichols

Art imitates life at a college party.